24 May 2019, Brussels: General Assembly of the European Land Registry Association

On 24 May, President Vivien Whyte represented the EUR at the 27th General Assembly of the European Land Registry Association at Scotland House in Brussels.

This event brought together the 33 member countries of the Association as well as representatives of various institutions such as the European Commission, the European External Action Service and the Centre for Notarial Studies of the Faculty of Law of the University of Coimbra.

ELRA proceeded to the election of a new Board. It is now chaired by Mr Fernando de la Puente (Spain), assisted by Ms Luisa Clode (Portugal), Secretary General. Mr Jan Moerkerke (Belgium), Ms Kadri Laud (Estonia) and Mr David Fridh (Sweden) were elected members of the Bureau. The EUR sends their warmest congratulations.

The General Assembly was also an opportunity to discuss with the European Commission several topics relevant to land registries such as land registration in the light of the protection of personal data or the impact on land books of the draft regulation European law on the law applicable to the opposability of assignments of claims.