13 – 14 June 2019, Strasbourg: 32nd CEPEJ Plenary Meeting The European Commission for the Efficiency of Justice

(CEPEJ) held its 32nd plenary meeting on 13 and 14 June 2019. Mr Ramin Gurbanov (Azerbaijan) chaired it. During this meeting, an exchange of views between the President of the European Court of Human Rights, Mr Sicilianos, his fellow judges and the members of the CEPEJ highlighted the possible interactions between the Court and the CEPEJ on the indicators that can be used to evaluate the efficiency and quality of justice.

The chairmen of the various CEPEJ working groups (Evaluation – Quality – Mediation – Saturn) presented their activities and the planned work, which the CEPEJ took note of. The CEPEJ adopted the “European Handbook for the Development of National Laws on Mediation”, the “Guidelines for the Design and Monitoring of Mediators Training Programs” and the “Toolkit for the Implementation of the Guidelines on Cyberjustice” (available at https://www.coe.int/en/web/cepej/).

An update was made on the various Council of Europe co-operation programs for Albania, Kosovo, Azerbaijan, Slovakia, Malta, Spain, Tunisia, and Egypt to which the EUR, for some, contributed. New programs are envisaged in the Republic of Moldova, Georgia, Latvia and Slovakia.

The EUR presented observations deploring the fact that the update of Recommendation R (86) 12 of the Committee of Ministers has not been adopted as a priority by the Council of Europe’s European Committee on Legal Co-operation (CDCJ) as the CEPEJ wished and following an initiative of the EUR.

The EUR wished Stéphane Leyenberger, Executive Secretary of the CEPEJ, full success in his new position at GRECO (Group of States against corruption of the Council of Europe) and thanked him for the attention and support brought to the EUR and our professions during the 15 years he spent at the CEPEJ.

Vivien Whyte, President, and Jean-Jacques Kuster, Representative to the Council of Europe represented the EUR.

Center (left to right) ECHR President Mr Sicilianos, CEPEJ President Mr Gurbanov, surrounded by the Presidents of the CEPEJ Working Groups.